It has been a pleasure to receive an extraordinary number of applications for the Inaugural Growing 'Junior' Tall Poppies. Due to the large number of applicants it has consequently taken the selection committee longer to assess the applications, and we thank you for your patience

It is our enormous privilege to announce the ten successful students to be awarded as a Growing 'Junior' Tall Poppies 2014.

Jovita Thomas - Avila College

Keira Unmack - Ballarat Grammar

Sacha Mann - Girton Gramma School Bendigo

Sarah Camm - Mater Christi Catholic College

Brooke Stocks - Ararat College

Devam Modi - Nossal High School

Peter McGarvey - Marymede Catholic College South Morang

Matthew Peviti - Catholic Regional College Melton

Richard Sun - East Doncaster Secocndary College

Connor Gordon - Sacred Heart College Kyeneto

"Your application describing how you will improve the outcome for learning science within your community with the help of a scientist or mathematician was excellent and we congratulate you on this extraordinary achievment."

These applicants and their school will be invited to a formal award ceremony in Melbourne CBD (the date will be in October to be confirmed). They will also attend a science communication immersion program in the week of September 22nd (Monday to Thursday).

Congratulations and warm wishes to you on behalf of the Growing Junior Tall Poppies committee.


There was an extraordinary quality of applicants in this the inaugural year of Growing Junior Tall Poppies. The following students have been selected as worthy of an Honourable Mention. We invite these students and five further students from their school to participate in a Growing Tall Poppies immersion science program in 2015.

Congratulations to these students for their worthy effort.

Ryan Arscott - Emmanuel College Warnambool

Sarina - La Trobe Secondary College

Ashna Khalid - Ballarat Grammar

Eleanor Cook - Kilvington Grammar School

Dan Hoang - East Doncaster Secocndary College

Jothan Hughes - Sacred Heart College, Kyneton

Timothy Chen - Nossal High School

William Tran - Nossal High School

Janet Liu - Camberwell Girls' Grammar School

Christopher Fink - Brighton Secondary College

Saran Kim - Mater Christi Catholic College

Lauryn Simpkin - Mater Christi Catholic College

Jamie Sheil - Mater Christi Catholic College

Maggie Dunn - Loeto Mandeville Hall Toorak

Ngoc Chau Vo - The Peninsula School Mt Eliza

Nikka Sadafi - East Doncaster Secocndary College

Marcus Ha - Ashwood College